juice & beer

Happy Friday!

The weekend started for me last night when I partied with the DC Road Runners.DSC02910Talking about running with other runners just never gets old. Anthony and I have this thing where we accidentally match ALL THE TIME.DSC02911We ate a lot of beer and chicken fingers until the night got late. And by late, I mean 9 p.m. Like me, all of the other club members like to be in bed by 9:30 because we all wake up at 5 a.m. Love it!

Once I did make it into bed, I had a crazy dream that I got lost on the Zooma Half Marathon course! I guess race day (tomorrow!) is on my mind. Has anyone else had race dreams the night/week before the race? What are they usually about?

Another question: Has anyone tried a juice cleanse?_DSC0009When Alive Juices contacted me about trying out their product, I was pretty curious to give it a whirl. Juicing is sort of the rage right now in DC. Alive Juices is a new local company offers fresh, organic juice delivery that aims to aid in immunity, weight-loss, and longevity.

I sampled the #5 juice, which is the second-most “green” of them all! Boasting an ingredient list organic ginger, apple, garlic, sprouts, lemon, romaine, bok choy, collard greens, and fennel, this juice is not joking around when it comes to vegetables. I’m sure if you drank this stuff regularly, your body would be pretty happy with all of the nutrients, vitamins, and other goodness fueling it up._DSC0011 However, to be completely honest, I’ll warn you now that Juice #5 is quite herby! I think the garlic and fennel flavors really came through for me… which made me conclude that this drink is probably more fit for an afternoon snack or lunch accompaniment, not for breakfast. If you like V8 and other herby drinks, I’d recommend it; if you’re more into the sweeter side of juice; Alive has some more fruit-based options that might please your palate more.

If you’re interested in signing up for an Alive Juice package, you can learn more about the options here. If you mention minutes per mile, you’ll get 10% off, too!

This morning, though, I’m back to coffee. A big cup of strong, bold coffee. No better way to start the day!

Tell me:

  • Do you ever have race day dreams?
  • Have you tried a juice cleanse or gotten into the juicing craze?
  • What’s on your schedule this weekend?

Of interest:

5 comments

  1. Good luck in your race! I will have dreams about not having clothes / shoes / a ride / other necessities. I blame it on a little nervous energy!

  2. oh my gosh that runner get-together sounds so much fun!! Gosh i need to get with a running group… I dont have one and i WANT PEOPLE WHO ARE OBSESSED WITH RUNNING and dont mind me talking about it 24/7 !!

Leave a comment