steak and speed

Why not start off with some steak? This week’s salad:2-_DSC0681I don’t know what got into me but I decided go big with beef this week. We cooked up sirloin steak in the oven — thanks to this guidance it was perfectly done!3-_DSC0688Plus arugula, red peppers, asparagus, tomatoes, bleu cheese, and croutons. My inspiration for the combination came from the steak & asparagus salad I love so much at Southern Hospitality.1-_DSC0679Steak for lunch. YOLO.

Now back to the usual. Track day!1-IMG_1056I had to do 1000s today (2.5 laps), which is the most awkward and difficult distance ever. You can’t sprint like an 800, but at the same time you can’t cruise like a mile (1600). So tough! 2-IMG_1058I was supposed to stick to a 4:12 pace for each rep but ended up doing this: 4:12, 3:59, 4:06, 4:04, and 4:10. So inconsistent! Not good. Oh well.

One thing my coach has me thinking about is the importance of rest between reps. He recommends vastly different rest periods and rest types for each track workout — something I never thought of before! In the past I would just jog around or stand still between laps; now, I have a specific routine I have to follow. For example, for today’s more intense workout I had to do a 4-minute light jog between laps. Here’s an interesting article describing different types of interval workouts and the different rest periods that accompany each one. And another.

That’s all I’ve got! Have a great day!

  • Do you stick to a rest plan between reps, or just freestyle?
  • When was the last time you ate a steak?
  • Does anyone know how to make croutons from regular bread? I am tired of buying bagged ones!!
9 comments

  1. Croutons are easy! Let a loaf sit out or if you want it to go faster chunk it up and put it in a tupperware / something and loosely cover. I think its normally a few days until its good and stale then you toss with some olive oil and spices then bake! I used to do it all the time when i worked at a restaurant. I couldn’t tell you the temp off the top of my head though, I would guess in the 400s ?

  2. Homemade croutons are the best and super easy! All you need to do is get a loaf of bread, I like sourdough, and let it sit for a day or two. Once it’s slightly stale, chop it up into little crouton size pieces and put in a bowl. Drizzle with some extra virgin olive oil, and spices. Lately, I’ve been using garlic or onion salt and some pepper, but you can use whatever you like. Lay them out on a baking sheet and bake at 375-400. Check on them frequently as the baking time will depend on the size of the pieces. Another trick is to use the broiler (on low) for the last little bit of baking as it will crisp the outsides up nicely.

    Hope this helps!

  3. I don’t like 1k’s either because it’s so hard to judge what effort to use. I did them last week and also had inconsistent splits (except mine consistently got slower). Interesting thoughts about varying recovery intervals!

Leave a Reply

