old lady progression runs

Happy weekend! I hope yours has been full of time with good friends.

(Birthday celebration!)2-DSC03386and good food. As promised, both burgers and tacos awaited me on my 26th.4-IMG_1033Yes yes yes.1-DSC03385Plus beer, margaritas, and brownies for good measure. And a sombrero. What a special day! I’m lucky to have such lovely friends and I love them all.3-DSC03396Since I’m an old lady now, I was scared that I wouldn’t be able to handle Saturday’s progression run. The game plan: 45 minutes at an 8:30 pace, 45 minutes at an 8:00 pace, and 30 minutes at a 7:30 pace (for a total of 2 hours or about 15 miles).

2-IMG_1037I made sure to pick a flat, shady route first. Capital crescent trail, you’re perfect!

First 45 minutes was actually difficult — I think I was excited and nervous about the run so couldn’t slow down. Especially when running through more creepy tunnels!

3-IMG_1040I took my Gu like a good girl. After I skimped on fueling the other week, I’ve learned my lesson. Island Nectars is gross by the way. Stick to lemon lime and orange! When I eat Gu I try to swallow it like a pill — don’t taste it and just gulp it ASAP.4-IMG_1041The last 30 minutes were challenging, but I did it!1-IMG_1034Tada!Screen shot 2013-08-25 at 8.56.29 AMI was pretty excited that I handled my first long progression run. I guess loading up on junk food is the secret to success, after all. Have a wonderful Sunday! 🙂

  • Do you drink the night before a long run?
  • Have you ever done a long progression run?
  • When was the last time you wore a sombrero?
12 comments

  1. Hope you had a great birthday!! That’s such a great progression run! I’ve never done a long progression run before, but I think you’ve just inspired me…and I think my target paces would be just about the same, so I’ll have to give it a try soon!

  2. Happy birthday! And congrats on such a good progression run! I really need to try something like that for my long runs as I tend to just run how I feel without any focus, but this sounds great.
    And good stuff on running after such a fab night out. If I have one drink I really feel it the next morning in the run 😦

Leave a Reply

