cross training & thai chicken

Happy Friday!

Yoga today. I try to do 30-60 minutes a week even though I kind of hate it. Also, I hate these people who made a poolside yoga video… for me to watch while I sit in my carpeted living room. Jealousy.

1-_DSC0752Speaking of cross-training, I have to say one of my favorite answers from the Ask Anything: Lauren Fleshman article I linked to yesterday is her post on cross-training. She basically says that high mileage isn’t possible for everyone, and cross-training is a great way to become a strong runner without… well, running.

“With the right methods of cross training, you can sub out some of your pounding miles and achieve incredible results, and not get hurt…ย it drives me nuts when articles come out that say ‘runners should run, not cross train, if they want to be fast.’ Sure, if you can run as much as you want and never get hurt, go for it! But that’s just not the reality for 90% of people.”

An even realer reality:ย Bocatto gelato! Today is my birthday.2-_DSC0749-001Anthony and I sort of started celebrating last night because today is too busy for 100% celebration! He is taking the GRE as I type this post — and even though I already made a birthday wish that he aces it, you should wish him luck too!

All of my birthday dreams have come true. Everyone must know how much I love Balega socks because I have acquired five pairs so far and it’s not even noon.1-_DSC0748-001PLUS a banana slicer (which I definitely needed) and a SELF-HOSTED blog and lots of other extremely necessary goodies. Expect minutes per mile to get 10000x better in the next week or so. I feel really special.

Here is something special for you. A salad!1-_DSC0719-001This week I was feeling fancy and whipped up this Thai chicken creation. Pretty easy, and definitely yummy!2-_DSC0726-001I pretty much stuck to the recipe, with a few tweaks: add red pepper to the salad; for the dressing, reduce sugar, add more soy sauce, and add more lime. I’d also be curious to try pineapple or mandarin orange instead of papaya.. next time!3-_DSC0730-001A nice twist to my usual salads and also pretty healthy!

Speaking of healthy, today I am going to eat burgers for lunch and tacos for dinner. Being 26 isn’t so bad after all.

  • When is your birthday?
  • Last standardized test you took?
  • If you had a free plane ticket to any country in Asia, where would you go?
15 comments

  1. Sophie @ life's philosophie

    Happy Birthday! Go to Singapore (my hometown) and then you can bounce to Bali, Thailand, Borneo, India, Cambodia etc. Have a great day!

  2. Happy Birthday Mary!
    Good luck Anthony! I’m sure he’ll do well! Just the idea of taking the GRE is petrifying!
    November 16th – I’m celebrating it by doing a little SE Asia backpacking (Malaysia, Indonesia, Cambodia with a side of Turkey – the country not the food). ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

