i don’t know who i am anymore

Rise and shine!
1-IMG_1027It’s butt-whipping time! (Does anyone remember this Cool Runnings quote?)

Anyways, ’twas another day at the track. I was scared.3-IMG_1032The game plan was to do six 800-meter reps at 3:20 pace each. I’ve never ever run 800s that fast in my entire life. So I was pretty sure I would fail, and then die.2-IMG_1029But I didn’t! I have no idea how I did it but I managed to clock out between 3:06 and 3:12 for each rep. I don’t know who I am anymore. I guess this having a coach thing is working. Also I listened to Florence + Machine the whole morning and ate 10 lbs of carbohydrates last night so perhaps that helped.

Yes to carbs. Maple has been one of our favorite restaurants for a while — so, not surprisingly, when we went there last night everything was amazing.1-P1010524Some of Anthony’s coworkers joined us for a late-night dinner which featured Italian brilliance in the form of bruschetta…2-P1010526As well as a garlicky, spicy, and buttery bowl of linguine. With clams!
3-P1010536Unfortunately all the late-night spice has settled, the wine has worn off, and my legs are feeling those speedy miles. I’m ready to go back to bed and it’s 8 a.m. I used to work with someone who would secretly nap under her desk at work… maybe I will give it a try today.

Get some rest and go eat pasta!

  • What was your workout today?
  • Do you believe in carb loading? (I’m on and off about it)
  • Favorite movie from the 90s?

Of interest:

16 comments

  1. I had a 4 miler on the schedule, but my knees and shins have been throwing a fit since Monday, so I’ve taken Tuesday, Wednesday, and today as elliptical days, tomorrow as a rest day, and hopefully I can run my 10 miler on Saturday!
    Congrats on your speed session!

  2. Runner Girl Eats

    My workout was 4 miles this morning plus shoulder work. Felt great! My favorite movie from the 90s was Clueless and Don’t Tell Mom The Babysitters Dead. Confession: I still watch both whenever I catch them on tv.

  3. My workout today was a quick 15 minute upper body workout, 4 mile run followed by a quick 15 minute lower body workout! Oh boy, my favorite 90s movie? There are too many! I LOVE Little Giants & She’s All That 🙂

  4. Lynz

    I have an easy 4 miles on the schedule. (I don’t start training for my half until Oct so I’m taking it easy) Good heavens, you are fast! The fast 800 I’ve done is like 4:20! I totally believe in carbo loading but not too much. Some people take it overboard and end up feeling really bloated right before a race. But I think there is a balance.

  5. I’m not sure if it was the 90s but I loved Look Who’s Talking. Brilliant film!
    Good job on those intervals! I really want to get down to a track and do sme proper intervals but with my running club we tend to do more informal ones with lamposts (so I guess more fartleks than proper intervals). Still tough though!

  6. Amazing run for you today! You are so speedy!
    Your dinner looks delish. I’m pretty much only into carb loading if its convenient for me – aka if I accidentally inhale a pound of pasta the night before, obviously I was carb loading. Otherwise I don’t think about it.

Leave a Reply

