flying

Something about the sun must have put a spring in my step today…IMG_0914I was flying! Love you, runner’s high.

Across Key Bridge to a sleepy Georgetown…IMG_0915Checked in on the prez.IMG_0916Best view of the Jefferson:IMG_0917Hains Point, which is a lot longer than I thought it was.IMG_0918I was aiming for about ten miles today, but my little HP detour made my route more like twelve. Oh well. It was gorgeous outside and I was feeling great…IMG_0919The only thing faster than my legs this morning is the rate at which I am typing right now.

Before I go, let me tell you about an awesome FREE class I went to yesterday. Thanks to Active LIfe DC‘s weekend fitness list, I spotted a workout that met my schedule and budget!

To the Ritz Carlton courtyard I went, yesterday at 10:30 a.m. Ready for boot camp! Unfortunately, nobody was there.IMG_0904Then I saw the instructor — Ingrid! — stroll in. Ingrid and I met at a Nike event, a SweetGreen event, and now here! It is fitness fate. Anyways, the class actually started at 11 a.m. so that explained why I was hanging out by myself.

I went on a short jog to kill the remaining 20 minutes before class started.IMG_0907Then, it was time to get my butt kicked! Ingrid and the other instructor had our group do about 45 minutes of circuit training.IMG_0910-001We rotated through stations, spending one minute at each spot. Abs, legs, and arms on fire!IMG_0909-001It was lovely out, the instructors played upbeat music, and the class was small enough to have plenty of space and attention from the trainers.IMG_0908-001Plus, like I said, it was FREE. Awesome. Check out this workout, as well as other fitness (and brunch?) classes here, and be sure to note that the class starts at 11, not 10:30! (Apparently the Washingtonian published the start time incorrectly). See you there.

Have a lovely day!

  • What’s the best free workout you’ve ever had?
  • Highlight of your weekend?
  • Do you often take detours, or stick to the same route?
10 comments

  1. Agreed, beautiful running view! Best free workout is running. Usually stick to the same route, because generally I run where I live. And I live on a dead end road that is off of another dead end road. 🙂 However, if I’m out in another part of town, or even in another town altogether, I will detour and go wherever my little heart desires!

  2. Cara

    such lovely views! I hope to end up in the DC area post-grad. I’ve been sticking to the same route lately, but I really need to mix it up. It’s pure laziness (since I don’t own a garmin), and I know the mileage to a TEE. The highlight of my weekend has been coming home to spend my last ten days of summer with my family.

    I discovered your blog a few months ago, and I’ve enjoy it ever since! Thanks for the good reads that motivate me to never stop running and keep focusing on speed. Have a great day!

    • thank you so much! it’s always exciting to hear that someone reads this, haha. DC is lovely. if you are ever visiting or moving here and need tips please let me know! yes, i looove my Garmin for its mapping abilities which are incredibly useful when you want to run a longer route but don’t want to plan it. 🙂

  3. WOW your morning runs are so much cooler than mine haha… what amazing views and meaningful things you get to run past!!
    That FREE class looks great! I am all about free stuff…. I will do/participate/eat/etc anything if it is FREE.

Leave a Reply

