the midweek long run.

Today was a day designed for running.DSC03258Perfect temperatures, a beautiful sunrise, and good company!DSC03261Anne joined me for nine of my Tuesday 10-er. I don’t think we could have picked a more perfect day or perfect route!

The “midweek long run” is pretty standard in most marathon training programs. Depending on your race goal, fitness level, and timeline, a midweek long run could range from 6 to 14 miles. I think the longest midweek run I’ve done was a pre-work half marathon, but I can’t remember because I think I was asleep for most of it. Usually, I stick around 8-12 miles.DSC03264

To read more about midweek long runs, there are some interesting forums and discussions here, here, here, and here. Although the concept of midweek long runs doesn’t seem to be debated (pretty proven that it builds your base mileage in a good way), there are two discussions that seem to have people fired up: 1) finding time for a midweek run and 2) whether you should run for distance or time, since people who run on the slower side would have to schedule quite a bit of time to fit in 11 miles before work. My thought on both of these issues: Wake up early. Like really early. Done and done!

Plus, getting your midweek long run out of the way before the day begins means you have the evening completely free to do other productive things such as eating pizza and watching The Bachelorette.IMG_0890Down to two men?! WHO WILL SHE PICK?! More inspiring, relevant literature: Oh Jones’s blog.

Happy reading, and happy day to you!

  • Do you do a midweek long run? When, and how long?
  • Do you run for time or distance?
  • Did you watch the Bachelorette (Brooks?!!)?!!
12 comments

  1. Such a pretty sunrise! I used to do a midweek long run on Wednesdays and it would be between 8-10 miles (before that pesky hip thing happened…). I usually run for distance but try to cut down on the amount of time it takes. No Bachelorette for this gal. I hope we can still be friends. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Runner Girl Eats

    I save my long runs for the weekends…but lately since I am not training for anything I have been slacking and none of my runs are actually long runs. Maybe I will change that Saturday!

  3. Eat Pray Run, DC

    I do all my long runs on the weekends. I prefer that because it usually means I can nap in my compression socks afterwards, which is my favorite form of recovery. I love all things Bachelorette and watched last night…my guess is that Brooks changes his mind. Because there is NO way she can marry either of the other two guys after saying repeatedly how she didn’t feel nearly as strongly for them as she does Brooks.

  4. Pingback: tea & tina turner | minutes per mile

Leave a Reply

