out the door

Rabbit Rabbit!DSC03064True, Rabbit Rabbit is apparently a British tradition. But other than that, I am keeping it very American today.DSC03068A quiet run through the monuments today. I’m still feeling very zen after Saturday’s nature-full run. Does anyone else go through phases like this? Sometimes I go weeks at a time having very mellow runs; sometimes a streak of super-fast, high-energy runs; sometimes a string of no-good-terrible runs.

Speaking of terrible, our Mall is covered in scaffolding, cranes, and porta-potties. I still like it though!
DSC03069One of the coolest things about living in the nation’s capital is that I’m surrounded by inspiring people. Of course, there are inspiring people everywhere! But I do feel like DC attracts a lot of driven, passionate people working in government, international politics, non-governmental organizations, think tanks, and… fitness??! Say what.

So when Sweetgreen invited me to hang out with these people last night I said YES.DSC03051The “flash fitness” dinner party went as such. First, a butt-kicking in the form of bootcamp, barre, and yoga.DSC03052We did a 15-minute circuit of each workout style. My buns are still burning from all the squats. Thanks, Ingrid!ย DSC03053Our instructors: Ingrid Nelson (Nike/personal trainer), Lauren ofย Lava Barre, and Tano Mazi, yoga instructor. All of them teach in the DC area!DSC03056After our sweat session the real fun began. Some healthy grub to fuel the fun…DSC03059Honest tea. Honest-ly my favorite bottled beverage! No artificial sweeteners, but still low on sugar. It’s just simple and delicious.DSC03060

And, of course, Sweetgreen’s seasonal salad of the month!ย DSC03063But of course, the best part of the evening was meeting a handful of other bloggers and inspiring health-driven people in the area. It made waking up and getting my butt out on a run that much easier today!

I promise it’ll be easy for you, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  • What’s your favorite tea/soda/non-water drink?
  • Do you embrace any non-American traditions?
  • What inspires you to get out the door and run?
15 comments

  1. That workout sounds amazing! I’m missing pilates this week to go home for the 4th so I’m jealous! I really like Izze sodas – sparkling clementine and sparkling blackberry are my favorites! I’ve recently found a pretty zen path to run on myself and I really enjoy getting out there to do it. Finding motivation to run among the traffic in the neighborhood? That’s a little more difficult.

  2. That run scenery is crazy beautiful! You are so lucky!

    I’ve never known anyone else to do the rabbit thing! My boyfriend’s family does “white rabbit” which I’m guessing is the same thing, and it’s always a MAJOR competition to see who will win. I lost this time but my record is still the best ๐Ÿ™‚

    • haha yeah it’s a weird tradition. I actually picked it up from watching Face on Nickelodeon back in like 1993… he would always say it. Not sure if you remember/know of Face, depends how old you are!

  3. All that food looks sooooo yummy! You are very fortunate to live in such an awesome area with such awesome people. ๐Ÿ˜‰ We have pretty cool people down here in Raleigh, but I think DC might be a little cooler ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Pingback: flying | minutes per mile

  5. Pingback: SweetGreen VIP Dinner & U Street’s New YMCA | minutes per mile

Leave a Reply

