warming up/spinach invasion

When I woke up, I thought it was Friday. Then realized it was Tuesday. TRAGIC, you guys.DSC02985But speaking of Friday, last Friday’s rooftop yoga was such a hit that I took my mat up top again. This time, Daniela joined me!

I purposely stacked these photos to make it look like I am super strong. I can’t help but chuckle at my Photoshop skillz on this one.2013-06-25But really, it was a great start to the day. Sunshine, stretching, and more laughter when my virtual instructor busted out poses like this:DSC02990Yeah right. 

I’m keeping it light on the feet this morning because I’m saving my legs for a 5k race tonight! Unlike my last 5k, this is a real timed race and not a “fun run,” so I’ve got no excuses not to crush it. 

And to crush a 20-minute race (okay, maybe 23-minute if I’m being honest), apparently I need to do a 20- to 30-minute warmup. Per my coach’s recommendation — and per articles/forums like this one, this one, and this one — the 5k is actually won before the race even starts. Lots of easy jogging, a few striders, and dynamic stretching help pick up your heart and respiratory rates and get your legs ready to race. Let’s see how it goes!

In other news, I made a smoothie! And took the time to snap a photo before I inhaled it._DSC0626The main ingredient is pineapple — whose yellow beauty was overwhelmed by the rich colors of the other ingredients, unfortunately. I still love you, pineapple._DSC0623This is the list: soy milk, banana, pineapple, frozen cherries, ice, a bit of vanilla protein powder, and… a bit of frozen spinach. I’ve heard that you can’t taste a bit of spinach in a smoothie which is true, but not completely true. I think next time I’ll keep it out to keep my smoothie’s colors and tastes true and beautiful.

I didn’t know I had such a strong opinion on that topic but there you have it. Is it Friday yet?

  • Have you ever put spinach or another vegetable in a smoothie? Thoughts?
  • What’s your 5k race strategy?
  • The most advanced yoga pose you’ve mastered?

Of interest:

 

16 comments

  1. Hey, dump that soy milk for almond milk since 90% of soy in this country is GMO! You can get flavored almond milk that’s quite tasty!

    I’ve done spinach in smoothies before. My wife loves it. I hate it. My go-to smoothie in the morning is this:

    1 c almond milk
    1/2 c blueberries
    1/4 rolled oats
    1 tbl flax seed/chia see cocoa mixture
    1 tbl vanilla protein powder
    Very small handful of ice just to make it cold

    • oh man, if i started avoiding GMO foods, what would i eat? isn’t everything based on GMO corn these days? what an interesting discussion.
      anthony is keen on almond milk, especially in smoothies — maybe i’ll give it a go! thanks for the recipe. we just got a vitamix so it’s smoothies galore over here!

      • We have a really, really hard time avoiding GMO! I’m really hoping we get a labeling act passed soon, but I’m not very hopeful. I know I can’t completely dump them, but I’m trying so hard to avoid them. My wife and I are vegetarians so we aren’t consuming beef/pork/chicken that uses corn in the feed. That helps a lot, but we also realize that our lifestyle is in the minority!

        NoMeatAthlete.com has some nice smoothie recipes. I have a couple of post-run smoothie recipes I’ll send you too. Man, I’d love to have a Vitamix! I’m afraid the wife would shoot me though if I spent that much money on one! Enjoy it. They are definitely awesome.

  2. Eat Pray Run, DC

    I love oats, almond milk and (insert your favorite fruit here) smoothies! Yum. I haven’t yet added spinach yet to my smoothies mostly because I love their pretty color 🙂

  3. Runner Girl Eats

    Good luck on the 5k!!! I’ve never added spinach to my smoothies bc I don’t believe that you can’t taste it. I love spinach but its not a flavor I want in my smoothie!

  4. Have a good race! Evening races are fun!

    I agree with your sentiments toward spinach in smoothies. My boyfriend put cucumber in a smoothie once, and it was a little strange.

  5. I can do handstands and headstands pretty proficiently, however i think the most advanced pose I’ve mastered is the Crow pose. I love to do it and do it often and randomly. That smoothie looks and sounds delicious!

  6. Pingback: strength | minutes per mile

Leave a Reply

