lesson learned

Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend!

We certainly are. It started on Friday with a dinner party at our new place! And some brilliant self-timer photography.P1010465Someone told me once that red is the worst color for photography so I’m not sure what Anthony and I were thinking with these walls, placemats, and my shirt. And the monster bottle of Heinz. Luckily all of our guests are beautiful so even the aggressive color tones couldn’t ruin this shot.

Also, beautiful food! I was in charge of the salad:P1010459Anthony mastered some lovely crumbed chicken and to-die-for mac and cheese. Let’s just say that there was more than three cups of cheese in this recipe. I would estimate a 30:1 cheese-to-noodle ratio.P1010467The real show-stopper, though, was the wine. Many glasses later, I was unable to wake myself up for a 6:30 a.m. Saturday run with the running club… and thus had to run 13 miles alone in the late-morning monster heat.IMG_0629I didn’t completely die, though… because I had fuel! In the past I would never carry Gu for runs under 18 miles, and never carry water, period. But my coach is changing that.

And now I am one of those people that runs with a water belt. Sigh.
P1010474I stopped to take a Gu at mile 7:IMG_0630But maybe I should have just eaten this baby carrot, instead? If anyone is hungry, you can find it on the bridge to Teddy Roosevelt Island.IMG_0631I was feeling even lonelier than this carrot when I hit mile ten… but THEN I spotted these rugby players out on the National Mall!IMG_0637A romantic sweaty photo:IMG_0640A relaxing set of mattresses:IMG_0642And I was DONE. I was going to run 13.1 just to make it an official half marathon, but I seriously think I would have melted into the sidewalk if I took another step past 13. A word of advice: Don’t run a wine-based 13 miles in the midday sun.

Even though it was a lesson learned, it was still pretty fun learning it. I hope you’re having a sweaty, educational, and fantastic weekend, too!

  • What’s your favorite type of cheese?
  • Do you wear a water belt? Eat Gu often?
  • What’s one recent running lesson you’ve learned?
6 comments

  1. Brynne

    Parmesan cheese is my absolute favorite!

    Unfortunately the most recent lesson I have learned is that you will get injured if you start running too many miles too soon after a marathon 😦

  2. Runner Girl Eats

    I love all cheese but I’m a sucker for Brie. So creamy and wonderful! My biggest running lesson is to do what feels right for me and not try to be a speedy runner overnight.

Leave a Reply

