i <3 routine

Look who’s back!DSC02901-001After journeying across the world, all three of us found our way to our meeting corner at 6:15 this morning. Some people don’t like routines, but I am happy to have my regularly scheduled Wednesday run with these lovely ladies.IMG_0483In other news, DC is beautiful but also feels like a big armpit today. Hello, humidity!

The heat got us chatting about the appropriateness of running in a sports bra. Which apparently is a popular topic (as discussed here, here, and here). I think I used to be more against it, but over the past few years I’ve come to think that if it’s hot enough, it’s okay for women to bare a bit more. There’s nothing worse than a sticky shirt clinging to you on mile five, right? Plus, guys get to run completely shirtless so it’s not fair that women can’t shed a layer, too.

Speaking of layers, last night I tried to reinvent a Chipotle burrito bowl._DSC0010It had all the same ingredients as you’d find at Chipotle, and tasted almost as good! Anthony and I decided it just needed more oil to really rank up there with the real thing though. On the plus side, I’m guessing mine was a lot healthier. If you want to ruin your day, take a peek at Chipotle’s nutrition calculator to see some shocking numbers._DSC0008I made this Spanish rice (with brown, not white rice) for the base. Topped with onion, bell pepper, zucchini, black beans, chicken, tomatoes, salsa, cheese, and sour cream! I got exhausted just typing that… no wonder I was so full after eating this mountain of Mexican goodness.

  • How do you feel about running in a sports bra?
  • What’s your go-to order at Chipotle?
  • White or brown rice?

Of interest:

 

 

22 comments

  1. How do you feel about running in a sports bra?
    -I think if you are comfortable enough to do so, then more power to you. I am so pale (and not in sports bra/shorts only shape) that I will always have to wear a shirt for the barrier between me and the good ol’ sun.
    What’s your go-to order at Chipotle?
    -I love their salads. I just get the lettuce, the veggies, chicken, all of the salsa choices, and a bit of cheese
    White or brown rice?
    -Depends. I like white rice with sushi, but brown rice with everything else

  2. Dawn H.

    i’m a stickler for sunscreen, so running in a sports bra would mean more time applying sunscreen before running lol. I guess I’d rather have the shirt.
    I love white rice, but brown rice definitely has a better nutritional profile…

  3. I think I’m having Mexican for dinner tonight after seeing your photos!
    I am ok with women running in just sports bras, especially if its ridiculously hot or humid! In Thailand first thing in the morning it was already over 30 Celsius and nearing 40, so I wore a sports bra without a shirt on top. It would have been way too hot not to!

  4. 1: I’m male so I don’t know about sports bras….but I probably need one! #ManBoobs
    2: I don’t eat ANYTHING from Chipotle because even a veggie burrito has 2200mg of sodium! Yikes!
    3: Organic Brown all the way.

  5. As far as running sans sports bra – I’ve done it. Its not the prettiest sight, but I’m not doing it for attention anyway. I don’t have a Chipotle near me, so I have no opinion. 🙂 And I like yellow spanish rice. Can I choose yellow? Although, I do love some white rice with sushi.

      • No, I’ve never made my own sushi… I’m scared that I would become twice my size if I did. Because I don’t think I would ever stop. Ever. I saw some of my friend’s posts of FB because they went up to DC for it. I bet it was loud. And shiny!

  6. Nothing wrong with running in a sports bra. It’s kinda like a women’s singlet . But then, I don’t object to men running shirtless either.

    Aaron for rice, brown all the way

  7. Chelsea

    Oh, sports bra running. Usually when I see someone running sans shirt (female person, that is. Different thoughts for a male) I think one of the following:
    “Damn. wish I could pull that off.”
    “Put that away! No one wants to see that.”
    “That’s a cute sports bra. Plus, it’s hot out.”
    It usually depends on how good I’m feeling about myself that day, to be honest. But, at the end of the day, my general feelings about all things in life are that, as long as you can take care of your responsibilities, answer to yourself, and not hurt anyone in the process, get down with your bad self!
    Is it horrible I was surprised in a good way with my Chipotle information? It wasn’t great, but wasn’t as bad as I’d been thinking.

    • haha well you must be a responsible chipotle diner! ha! yeah i have mixed thoughts too but i generally try not to judge. unless it is like below 50 degrees, that’s just unacceptable weather for shirtless running IMO

      • Chelsea

        oh, for sure. I just think that makes you silly because, I’m sorry, there is NO way that’s comfortable! at least, I can’t imagine any way it could be.

  8. I think if women feel comfortable enough to do it then all the more power to you! I did occasionally when I was more toned, and I would now if I wasn’t so self-conscious. I don’t go to chipotle often, but I love the burrito bowls. lots of veggies and the spiciest salsa with chicken and guac. Gotta have the guac! Definitely brown rice. No need for extra refined carbs.

  9. ohhh I am a BIG fan of routine! for a while there it was actually more like OCD…. I have loosened up a little bit ha but I still love love love when I get into a groove!

    burrito bowl sounds yummy!! I will have to make that soon!!!

  10. Leah

    Confession – I am the shameless sports bra-bearing runner girl who provoked this conversation. While I sheepishly asked Miriam and Mary if they wouldn’t mind if I tossed my shirt before I took it off, to be honest, I think that everyone can and should try sports bra running. I used to be really self-conscious about the “wiggle wiggle wiggle” that inevitably goes with sports bra running, but the DC heat eventually wore me down, and now almost all of my summer runs end up shirtless. Here are the reasons I think all women should try it no matter how big or small or tight or wiggly you are:

    1. One of the greatest things about running is that it makes you proud of what your body DOES. You have a body so that it can get you where you want to go and keep you healthy and happy, not so that you can show off in a bathing suit/sports bra etc. Runners take care of their bodies, and I can’t tell you how liberating and empowering it is to be proud of what you’ve trained your body to do for you!

    2. Sports bras are made for holding stripped t-shirts. Started your run overdressed? Your sports bra is built for holding extra shirts! Just pull your shirt halfway through the thinnest part of the back of your sports bra (the part that makes it a “racerback”), and let it hang for the rest of your run. You don’t have to hold it, and it sways back and forth as you stride, serving as a little fan on your sweaty back.

    3. I’ve found that everyone, women especially, are encouraging of sports bra running. Running is such a cooperative sport. Runners are never glad to see other runners get hurt or have a bad run. We like to push and encourage each other. Doesn’t matter how slow you are. As long as you’re out there, you’re a runner! Same goes for sports bra wearing! Doesn’t matter if you’re a more womanly runner or you have a six-pack, as long as you’re our there, wear what will make you perform best! Secondly, just like runners get down on themselves for not performing as well as they should, I bet that most self-conscious would-be sports bra wearers look MUCH better than they think they do. You’re so encouraging of others! Be encouraging of yourself!

    For anyone out there feeling self-conscious about going just in a sports bra, try it!!! On your next run, just try half a mile or a mile in a not very populated area and concentrate on how much better you feel and how much faster you can go. If it’s not for you, it’s just a piece of cloth. You can always put it back on.

  11. Pingback: sprinklers, hopscotch, and braids | minutes per mile

Leave a Reply

