punching & poaching

You guys. I think I found my new calling in life.
IMG_0505I’m going to have to drop running forever and become a professional boxer!

Thanks to a LivingSocial deal, I have a one-month membership to Balance Gym. I branched out and tried a boxing class. YOLO.

The one-hour session was instructed by a former pro boxer who was complete with a limp, gold chain, and raspy voice. He taught me the one-two punch and a bunch of other stuff that ignited muscles (and ferocity!) I’d never known before. Don’t worry, I’m not actually going to drop running… but if you give me any crap about picking up boxing, I’ll punch your face off.

A few notes on boxing: According to Shape magazine, a boxing class can burn up to 600 calories per hour (I highly doubt this was true for my class, but whatever) and “sculpts your arms, shoulders, core, and legs.” In addition to being a great workout, I loved boxing because it has a rhythm and mental intensity that sort of puts you in a trance. Eager to test it out? Here’s a boxing workout from Women’s Health magazine!

Apart from the stellar boxing class, Balance gets a pretty good grade as a DC gym. IMG_0503The equipment is good (no TVs on most of the cardio machines, though, if that’s something you need), the views are nice, and the locker rooms are surprisingly accommodating for what appears to be an older gym.  2013-05-22It’s got a lot of classes and a good location — and what scores it major points (in my books, at least) is that it’s not too crowded. As a former member of the overly crowded Washington Sports Club, I was relieved to find space to breathe at Balance.

Another new thing I tried this week: this poached egg recipe. Which tastes a lot nicer than it photographs.P1010279Anthony and I were looking for something quick, cheap, easy, and healthy to make last night… and this was the answer to our prayers.P1010282It tasted best when scooped up with my best friend:P1010283We loved it! A bit spicy but definitely delicious.

And since we are discussing delicious-ness, I want to pause and reflect upon The Best Yogurt in the World._DSC0651This is the creamiest, smoothest, most heavenly yogurt I’ve ever tasted. I have tried many a coconut yogurt and none compare to Liberté.

That is all of the breaking, exciting, life-changing news I have for you today. Have a great weekend!

  • What’s your favorite yogurt?
  • Have you ever tried boxing?
  • What’s the most important feature of a gym to you?

Of interest:

20 comments

  1. Oh my gosh I am the BIGGEST boxing advocate! I took a very intense boxing class two years ago… I have the gloves, the wraps, jump rope, etc… it is one of the best workouts I have ever done. I have been sore from boxing unlike anyother work out! I would also come out with “war wounds” ((busted blood vessels in my hands)) that made me feel pretty awesome 🙂 Have fun with it! It is great to know how to throw a punch!!

    I am currently doing Yoplait Greek Yogurt and i love it! Also do Chobani!! all good 🙂

  2. Chelsea

    My gym offers a ‘fight club’ boxing program and, confession, it’s incredibly intimidating to see all those 300lb+ guys up there grunting and punching and looking mean…so I usually just sneak in when the class is gone and use the punching bags! lol. Maybe not the best, but it works 🙂 And I know what you mean about a busy gym – I don’t think there’s anything that gets on my nerves more than a crowded gym.

  3. Dawn H.

    i love boxing! and your description of the instructor – gold chain, raspy voice – hilarious. that’s how you know he’s the real deal. all i really need in a gym are treadmills with non-wobbly belts. spin classes and other gym classes are also good.

  4. Frozen yogurt, of course! 😉 I also love Dannon Oikos Greek Yogurts and Yoplait lights
    I’ve never tried boxing … sounds fun though 🙂
    I really like lots of machines, like treadmills, elipticals, and stair climbers

  5. Gyms definitely need to have space. I could care less about how old they are as long as I can get a good workout in. I’ve never tried boxing, but would love too! I love SO DELICIOUS raspberry flavored almond or coconut yogurts and their ice creams are great too.

  6. Pingback: DC-VA-MDx2 | minutes per mile

Leave a Reply

