exercising during vacation / go hug a treadmill

Yesterday I did something I never thought I would do.

I voluntarily ran on a treadmill… and then hugged it afterward.DSC02833I love exploring new cities by foot, but sometimes it’s nice to just put your brain on silent, blast some John Mayer, and go nowhere. Go nowhere fast, actually — because there are no hills, no stops, and no turns! Loved it.

Finding time or motivation to exercise over vacation can be tough for some people. A few reasons why I like to keep running while on vacation:

  • It’s an excellent way to figure out where you are, check out some local landmarks, and get a feel for your new surroundings.
  • It’s a way to find “me” time if you’re with a group and need a mental break.
  • You feel better indulging in mass quantities of cannoli and alcohol.
  • It can add structure and familiarity to your day.
  • You won’t feel completely out of shape when you get home.
  • You can work on your tan.

A few ways I find time to exercise on vacation:

  • Make exercise a priority. If you’re with a group, let them know you plan on going for a run/to the gym and figure out what time is most convenient for the schedule.
  • Exercise in the morning. You can do it before the day starts and only have to shower/change once, instead of having to go through your whole routine twice.
  • Run instead of going to the gym. The great thing about running is that there is no transit time wasted. Just put on your shoes and go out the door! (Granted that it’s safe to, of course).
  • “Run” errands. If there are monuments, parks, or other low-key public places that open doors to sweaty people with no money, then you should just jog to them and/or around them!

Of course, with views like this, I’m not having trouble finding inspiration or time to run:DSC02839Anthony and I are staying with friends in McLaren Vale, a little town in South Australia that specializes in wine, coffee, and rolling hills.DSC02835It rained on us halfway during our seven-mile journey, but we still boasted soggy smiles.DSC02837Then, it was time to put our faces on for more pho.DSC02845Adelaide — the main city near McLaren Vale — has a really cute collection of Asian shops and open markets. DSC02840Perfect for filling the tummy and emptying the wallet. Did you know that everything in Australia is very expensive? Example:DSC02850But anyways, back to the pho. Anthony put about 17 chilis in his soup which slowly ignited his insides. In a good way, according to him.

DSC02846Hope you’re having a fiery Tuesday yourself! 🙂

  • Do you like spicy food?
  • What’s the most expensive city you’ve been to?
  • Do you exercise when you’re on vacation?

Of interest:

7 comments

  1. I love spicy food. Las Vegas food wise was pretty expensive. I’m sure there are some restaurants that are cheaper, but I wasn’t about to walk into a dive. I try to exercise on vacation – usually it turns into a lot of walking. $10.00 for poptarts is nuts!!

  2. Pingback: Tuesday Things | lifes little epiphanies...

  3. DistrictSweats

    Definitely exercise on vacation. It was the only thing keeping me sane during a trip to Ireland with family last year!

  4. Chelsea

    I LOVE spicy food, but nowhere near as much as Mark does. I swear, its like the hubby has an iron stomach or something 🙂

    This is an awesome list of reasons to vacay-run. I usually just stop at “it’s a great way to see the sights” but I think it’s just as motivational to think about how much less “guilt” will be around with the vacation eating. Not to mention the whole “you won’t loose fitness for when you get home” thing!

  5. Looks like you guys are having a fantastic time!
    I love to run on vacation. Thank goodness I do because I still end up gaining weight. I can’t imagine how out of shape I’d be if I didn’t!

  6. Pingback: the mysterious “bad” day | minutes per mile

Leave a Reply

