cards & kangaroos

Happy Mother’s Day! I’ll dedicate this post to my mom, who has mastered fudge ecstatsies, Southern feasts, and beef ragout (in addition to raising children), as well as to my soon-to-be-mother-in-law, who not only crafts from-scratch cannoli:

_DSC0671but also makes stunning cakes such as this:_DSC0660and this (in addition to raising children, too!):_DSC0662I don’t know how moms do it.

The cakes were the star of a big celebration last night for Anthony and I’s engagement and his sister’s baby’s baptism. Lots of family, lots of food! And lots of briscola, an Italian card game._DSC0672Not sure how to transition from an Italian feast to an Australian dragon lizard, so let’s just make the jump.
P1010235Today we took a wild walk around Walkabout Creek, a massive space that hosts abundant wildlife as well as abundant food. We looked at the wildlife first:

(kangaroo!)P1010274(quoll!)P1010238(Anthony and I just Googled this bird for about ten minutes and determined it’s either the tawny frogmouth or the Tasmanian spotted owl… whoever can tell me wins a prize!)P1010251(mary and anthony!)P1010268and then had a nice lunch on the patio.P1010258The best part was at the end, we managed to finally take a photo of the whole clan. Tada!
P1010262Go call your mom, and have a great day!

  • What’s your favorite animal?
  • Have you ever made a gourmet cake?
  • Favorite card game?
6 comments

  1. pickyrunner

    That cake…looks incredible. I’d keep my mom around for awhile too if she could bake like that 😉 Kidding… I love my mom all the time.

  2. Alanna

    Those cakes are beautiful! I can’t wait to see your wedding cake!! Are you wearing heels during a walkabout? Quite the nature girl.

  3. Pingback: nerd | minutes per mile

Leave a Reply

