extreme sitting

Our bags are packed! We are leaving for Australia in less than five hours.

The most important item to have on hand during a 24-hour flight: snacks.

DSC02775The people at Kona Kase sent me a box of fun, healthy samples. I’m pretty sure you are supposed to consume these things when you’re doing an Ironman, climbing Mt. Everest, or running an ultramarathon… but I plan on eating them while sitting. You could call it extreme sitting, because I’ll be sitting thousands of feet above ground for more than 20 hours.

Anyways, back to Kona Kase. The deal is you pay $15 a month and get a box of random, healthy goodies delivered to your door. Pretty neat! If you don’t have time to go to the store or like trying new products it could be a fun subscription.

Before we step on the plane I made sure to move as much as possible because I don’t know if my legs will be working when we land on Monday. So today I did a sunny, slow ten miles. Somehow my hamstrings are STILL sore from my race on Sunday… I didn’t know that was possible.IMG_0486GREEN, finally! I love Teddy Roosevelt Island year-round, but it is the best in the spring.IMG_0487I stopped by the National Mall to see Anthony and his rugby clubIMG_0490Then headed home just in time to catch this nice desk chair. It’s a gently worn, faux leather treasure.IMG_0491And finally — just because I’ll be signing off until Monday or Tuesday — here’s a picture of me and two chairs from yesterday. If you miss these very informative and useful blog posts over the next day or two, you can head to Dupont Circle, sit in one of these, and send happy thoughts to Australia!IMG_0485I’ll be sending them back! 🙂

  • What’s the longest plane ride you’ve ever been on?
  • Have you ever played rugby?
  • Favorite season to run?
5 comments

  1. pickyrunner

    Have a blast and take a thousand pictures! Smart move on the run beore you left- I do the same thing so my legs don’t hurt from all the sitting!

  2. My longest was 14.5 hours from Chicago to Seoul. I’ve never played rugby but when I lived in DC I would ride my bike to the mall on Sundays and watch the rugby matches. I’m not near man enough to play that sport! I love running in the fall. Although, this last winter in Oklahoma was so mild it was quite nice too.

  3. Dawn H.

    Yikes – more posts on how to survive a long plane ride? I did 23 hours to Korea, but that was 5 years ago. I have another coming up to Singapore, which will be about 20 hours again, and I’m scrambling for ideas to kill the time lol.

Leave a Reply

