running & rolling

I’m back!IMG_0483Back to sort of normal running, that is. The past three weeks have been crazy with tapering, racing, and recovering, so it was nice to go out for an easy jog today like a regular person.

For those of you who have been following the rug drama, I have some bittersweet news: It’s gone.IMG_0484So, how does it feel to be done with marathon training? Pretty weird. I feel like I had such momentum and purpose during training, and now… I have nothing. It’s easy to start falling into a trap of negativity or confusion, but then I realize a few things:

  1. Um, “having nothing” is completely false because despite how it may appear, I actually have many other things and people to fill my time with apart from running millions of miles. Come on, Mary!
  2. There are always more marathons to run in months and years and lifetimes to come. I should look forward to them and enjoy the time off now.
  3. You don’t need to be training for anything or going fast or being #1 to enjoy running. It’s good to take a training break and just run to run.

To prove to you that I’m not the only crazy who battles the “post-race blues,” I direct you to a posts by Laura, About.com, and Livestrong on this same issue.

Luckily I also have Anthony around. He keeps my spirits up by doing  funny poses with sushi.

P1010195Last night we went to Wok and Roll, a solid sushi place in Adams Morgan. It’s not the best sushi in the world, but it’s affordable, convenient, and pretty tasty. P1010196And fun! I don’t know what got into us but we ordered this ridiculous lychee cocktail that was complete with a plastic sword.P1010194I think we’ve got vacation on the brain. We leave for Australia tomorrow! I’m a big fan of this country and can’t wait to get on a 24-hour flight. I’m going to wear this inflatable hand the whole time.ausGo Aussie go!

  • Have you ever felt the post-race blues?
  • Have you been to Australia or want to go?
  • Do you like sushi rolls, sashimi, or nigiri? Or none?

Of interest:

16 comments

  1. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast

    Thanks for sharing my post! Yes- it’s definitely normal to feel that way… especially with a marathon that you’ve been training for months for! Hope it starts to feel better day by day!

  2. pickyrunner

    I really enjoy just running for run and not worrying about training for anything. It’s more enjoyable that way and really allows you to just love the run. I want to go to Australia SO BADLY! I can’t wait to hear all about it!

  3. Seriously- so exciting about Australia! I didn’t know your fiance is from there…is all his family still there? The trip sounds like reason enough to not get the post-race blues!
    I have definitely felt them…after our first Ironman. I think it was compounded by an injury, so I couldn’t do much exercise at all.
    We backpacked Australia for three months in 2004. It was incredible- we didn’t work a day and were total beach bums!
    Safe travels!

  4. My husband and I really want to go to Australia – second in line to Italy. I love sushi rolls. I haven’t ever had post race blues because I’m usually always training for shorter races that I don’t have to take breaks from. I’ve only done one 1/2 marathon – and I didn’t train for it properly…that’s another whole story.

  5. The only thing I’ve ever felt post race is soreness. After all 3 halfs. I can’t imagine how I’ll feel after my first full. Yikes! I’d like to visit Austrailia, but after a few other places. I love sushi. And I love running just to run. After 7 years of running I’m just now looking into speed and tempo runs.

  6. Chelsea

    I love that your sushi plate is basically as big as your cocktail. Which is the way it should be 😉 I can’t believe you guys are going to Australia! It’s on my list of dream places to visit, so I’m especially excited to live vicariously through you while you guys are gone. And, for the record, although I’ve never run a single race, if it’s anything like the odd feeling after finals week at school, I know what you mean about the post-race feels of “um….now what?” 😀

  7. Dawn H.

    Oh I definitely get runner’s blues after I finish a race. My cure for it is to sign up for another one, or find other fitness events to do 🙂

Leave a Reply

