goal time

A beautiful Friday!IMG_0465I’m still sitting instead of running, but I did spot these springtime treasures on my ride home from work yesterday.

Speaking of ride, it’s time to check in with Betty! I splurged and bought her a new seat the other week. She is the hippest, heaviest, and oldest bike in town.

IMG_0466(This is what she looked like before:)

DSC00942Having a bike in DC is a blessing. Without Betty, I would never go to Georgetown (the most inaccessible and annoying place to get to in the whole city). But luckily, Betty transported me to Kafe Leopold in no time yesterday!IMG_0467I shared a drink with some other DC Road Runners and Nike Women’s Half Marathon training group coaches. Notice I am sitting closest to the basket of bread… that is intentional.IMG_0468Good luck to all the thousands of women and ten men running the race this weekend!

As you probably know by now, I’ll be racing this weekend too. I just spent three minutes thinking hard and came up with two goals: 1) have fun and 2) kick butt.

Having fun means that I stay positive for all 26.2 miles. During my last marathon, I started to think really negatively during the last five miles which really brought me down both mentally — and physically. I think if I would have been a bit more of a cheerleader than a debbie downer, I could have found the strength to speed it up. No matter how much my legs feel like they are going to fall off, I’m only going to think positive during this race. This old Runner’s World article is pretty interesting; it features a sports psychologist who encourages runners to acknowledge fear, and overcome it by turning negative thoughts into positive ones.

Kicking butt means, basically, that I PR and qualify for Boston. I’ve done some things to hopefully help me get there, like: lots and lots of running to build up endurance. Plus plenty of track sessionsCrossFit classes, and yoga to hopefully build up speed and strength.

The main way I plan on staying happy and fast for all 26.2 miles, though, is to have a killer playlist. I have spent all week crafting a glorious marathon jamz on Spotify. This is probably the best song of all 138 tracks I have added to my list thus far:

  • What’s your favorite song from the 90s?
  • Do you have a race coming up? If so, what’s your goal for it?
  • Do you have a bike?

Of interest:

8 comments

  1. pickyrunner

    I like your goals way more than any time goals you could have. Those are going to be my goals going into summer racing. And this weekend at conferences, actually. Chances are you’ll do better than you would if you restricted yourself to a certain time anyways!

  2. I would have to say one of my favorites that always puts me in a good mood is Miami by Will Smith. Love that song! I don’t have a half until July and then a Full in October. But until then I have a few 5ks I’m doing 🙂 I do have a bike, its a Jamis I bought a few years ago. It’s a hybrid so I can off-road with it too 🙂 Love the new seat on yours! Looks way better 🙂

  3. What’s your favorite song from the 90s?
    – Anything by Pearl Jam (I listen to alternative and rock n’ roll for my runs)

    Do you have a race coming up? If so, what’s your goal for it?
    – I have a bunch of shorter distance races in the near future and my goal is pretty much to just run as much as possible without walking.

    Do you have a bike?
    -No 😦 and I actually don’t even know how to ride one!

  4. Tina

    Have a great race, we will be thinking of you and maybe we can be there for another one of your races in the future.Have fun!

  5. Pingback: #6: the best 23-mile race I ever ran | minutes per mile

Leave a Reply

