potatoes

I just noticed that my past three posts have all had the word “running” in the title which means that right now running is dominating my life and also I need a break. Luckily I snuck in enough miles Monday-Thursday to make Friday a run-free (and rainy) day! DSC02723Which meant I got to attend CrossFit with fresh(ish) legs for once.DSC02728Anthony and I actually almost perished during this workout.

Strength: 15 minute EMOTM: 5 Tap & Go Deadlift @ 70% of 1 Rep Max (I used 85!)

Conditioning: Randy: 75 Power Snatch @ 75lbs (I used 45!)

It looks easy, but it’s NOT. DSC02725I have to run 24 miles tomorrow and hope I’m not too sore. Maybe lifting weights today wasn’t a bright idea but I guess we’ll find out tomorrow. Sigh.

I realize I haven’t showcased my gourmet eats lately (again, running is dominating everything), so here’s the masterpiece I whipped up last night:P1010101It’s called Put-the-Oven-on-350-and-Throw-Everything-In. I took the chicken (marinated in Italian dressing) out of the oven after about 30 minutes and the sweet potato out after about an hour. The broccoli? Microwave for 6 minutes with a sprinkle of water. The end. You could call this lazy, but I will call it efficient.

Let’s talk taters.

I’ve always heard that sweet potatoes are better for you than regular potatoes. According to the LA Times, they are — but only slightly. In terms of calories, carbs, and protein, the two are about the same; but when it comes to vitamins, sweet potatoes are king. The breakdown:

“…in a head-to-head comparison, these two tubers are seemingly very similar. In a 100-gram portion, the white potato has 92 calories, 21 grams of carbs, 2.3 grams of dietary fiber, 2.3 g of protein and 17% of the recommended daily value of vitamin C. The same amount of sweet potato, on the other hand, has 90 calories, 21 grams of carbs, 3 grams of fiber, 2 grams of protein, 35% of the recommended daily value of vitamin C and 380% of the daily recommended value of vitamin A.”

What an educational Friday!

  • Which do you like better: sweet potato or regular?
  • What’s your easiest weeknight meal?
  • What are you training for right now?

Of interest:

3 comments

  1. Ashley @ OurPersonalRecords

    I like both sweet and regular potatoes. I think my easiest weeknight meal is spinach, egg and cheese sandwiches on multigrain bread.

  2. Chelsea

    We are ALL ABOUT the sweet potato in our house! We love the little orange buggers 🙂

    I do something very similar for my easy weeknight meals, only instead of “in the oven” its “in the pan” and then “throw it all in a tortilla” 😀

Leave a Reply

