the climb

As seen on TV…IMG_0242Mary Doman and Anthony Lambkin Hit The Track, Part XLVII. Today’s story: The Climb.

IMG_0234Not only did we have to fearlessly hop the fence at Teddy Roosevelt High School, but I also did a “ladder workout” that synced perfectly with our climb-themed event.IMG_0232I get my track workouts from the DC Road Runners track workouts page. Today I did this little gem: 1×2000, 1×1600, 1×1200, 1×800, 1×400 with a 400m recovery lap between each. In common man’s terms: 5 laps, 4 laps, 3 laps, two laps, one lap. With one lap jogging/walking in between. My favorite was the last 400 because 1) it was the last lap! and 2) because it was so short, I got to sprint!

Then we climbed the fence again and went home. The end.IMG_0241

In addition to athletics, lately I’ve really been into the arts. Last night Leah and I went to the Corcoran Gallery for their “Corcoran Uncorked” event, which is scheduled every Wednesday. The galleries stay open until 9 p.m. and they have signature cocktails, beer, and wine. Plus free guided tours and fun music. A show, a tour, and a drink for $15? Pretty cool if you ask me.

Look at us, learning and getting cultured on a Wednesday night.IMG_0228

My favorite exhibit was about DC in the 1980s. Did you know that the straight edge movement began in DC?

IMG_0227Our tour guide was very funny and kept asking us how we felt about a bunch of spring-themed paintings and what we thought the paintings represented. Pretty deep stuff, you guys.IMG_0229And lastly, let me introduce a new member of the (soon-to-be) Lambkin family: Tabby the Tablet. Anthony went tech-crazy and bought one! Anthony I hope you’re okay that I just named your tablet right now.IMG_0231What a beautiful family.

  • Have you ever done ladder workouts?
  • Favorite tech gadget you own?
  • When was the last time you went to an art museum?

Of interest:

 

7 comments

  1. Brynne

    You don’t know me but I’ve gotten sucked into reading your blog! Hope that isn’t weird!
    I used to looove track workouts, but when they started not feeling challenging enough, I moved to fartleks which are now my favorite! But I’ve definitely done my share of climbing into HS tracks, hehe.

    • Haha, that is not weird at all. I read so many blogs and love getting to “know” people though them.
      I can’t help but giggle when I hear the word “fartlek.” Ha. I’ve done a few tempo/fartlek-style runs but have trouble pushing myself to run fast unless I am literally on a track looking at the loops.
      Thanks for the feedback!

  2. Pingback: blogiversay blowout | minutes per mile

  3. Pingback: goal time | minutes per mile

Leave a Reply

