whites and Wilmington

It’s another early one!

We got back from Wilmington in time to go to bed at a reasonable hour, but I decided to stay up and watch The Bachelor instead. Why is this show so addictive? I can’t wait to dedicate 15+ hours of my life to it over the coming months.

bachelor

Since I have CrossFit this morning and have to blog beforehand, I’ll have to wait until tomorrow to spill Monday’s fitness beans. Luckily I always have a batch of food photos on hand. Rewind to yesterday:

P1000486

We went to Washington Street Ale House for our final Delaware breakfast. Wilmington actually had very few places open on Sunday, so we were glad to find it! I went with an egg white flatbread sandwich and it was really good, mostly because there was melty cheese everywhere.

Anyways, I didn’t order it with egg white specifically; that’s just how it came on the menu, which was fine. I go back and forth with eggs and egg whites; usually when I make an omelette or scrambled eggs I use a mixture of whole eggs and egg whites to even out the fat, calories, and cholesterol.

On the cholesterol front, though, maybe we shouldn’t really be worried. This video explains some of the science behind eggs and cholesterol. The doctor/presenter says that your cholesterol levels basically rely on two things: genetics and trans-fat intake. Eggs, obviously, have zero trans-fats.

Screen shot 2013-01-14 at 5.59.32 AM

One study had a group of people eat one egg a day for a month; their cholesterol levels didn’t increase at the end of the month. Another study had a group of men eat a low-carb diet and three eggs a day; their cholesterol also did not increase.

I found the video interesting and useful, even though the doctor looks like a Backstreet Boy and says he eats six whole eggs a day. That is a lot of freaking eggs and kind of grosses me out.

Anyways, egg babblings aside, it was a wonderful brunch! Anthony’s friends from Philly drove down to surprise him. What a lucky man!

P1000487

And no trip to the tax-free shopping state would be complete without a mall outing. We rode a really sketchy public bus for a half hour to get there but it was worth it. I bought a hot pink sweater and flower-print pants, two must-haves for every girl.

P1000489

And that was it! Although we quickly caught on that Wilmington is, unfortunately, just as much high-crime as it is historic, we still had fun on our two-day adventure. And, we’re glad to be back in DC!

  • Have you ever been to Wilmington or elsewhere in Delaware?
  • Do you eat eggs or egg whites?
  • What’s your run today?
7 comments

  1. I just recently switched to eating the whole egg because I wanted some healthy fats in my diet. It was then I had a runny egg for the first time ever…….I’m never going back to scrambled egg whites:-)

  2. Mel

    a) Never been to Delaware but I’ve heard many good things about it.
    b) Eggs are my FAVORITE food so I’ll eat them in any way, shape, or form. However, as you probably know already, one of my fav ways of eating them is hardboiled, drenched in soysauce, and over the sink in a rush before class. 🙂
    c) Hill intervals on the treadmill for about an hr 😦 I can’t wait til I can run outside again!

  3. yummy! as for eggs i typically eat egg beaters just because i eat so many of them a day, BUT if i were to eat 2-3 egg servings i’d be fine with the amount of cholesterol in there. the more i’ve talked to people and the more research being done, egg yolks are getting much too much flack…hehe.
    run outside for me today. 🙂

  4. Pingback: DC’s best salads and desserts > my head « minutes per mile

Leave a Reply

