i’m redi

Morning trip to CHINA (town):

I usually stick to my usual trail routes, but today I felt like running to Chinatown. DC doesn’t have a huge Chinatown like New York or other cities, but I’m still proud of our mini-world of Asian goodies. 

I actually work near Chinatown and made sure to avoid the block where my office sits. Not that I don’t like my job, but who wants to run by their office when they’re going to be there again in like 2 hours?

I’m counting down my runs in the District until I hit the streets of Brentwood, Tennessee come Wednesday! FYI Thanksgiving — also known as “Turkey Wars” in my household — is an extreme sporting/eating/drinking event that lasts 3-4 days. I will try to capture the spirit of it on my blog but it is pretty difficult to put into words. It’s absolute insanity. I’m excited!

In preparation for the upcoming 4-day sugar rush, I decided to start prepping my turbinado levels yesterday with a Pumpkin Spice Latte.

I usually don’t splurge on the crazy drinks at Starbucks because they’re so bad for you and are priced on par with a sandwich. Seriously, this drink was nearly $6.00. BUT I had a coupon for a FREE drink so Anthony and I went for it. I love coupons.

Also, it breaks my heart when people order their drinks without whipped cream. Life is too short to deprive ourselves of such fluffy, sugary goodness. My sister engrained in me a deep passion for RediWhip at a young age, which was further developed when I worked in an ice cream shop in my teens and actually made whipped cream from scratch. And the rest is history.

Remember when you realized the pies on game shows weren’t actually pies, but just a pan of whipped cream? That made pie-in-the-face much less intimidating.

I love running but the next few months are going to be especially fun because I get points for each mile I log! I joined the Holiday Challenge, a little online community where you compete and track your fitness feats over the holidays. It’s supposed to inspire people to stay on a healthy track and not overdose on eggnog or pumpkin pie. I can’t make any promises on that front, but I’m happy to have some accountability partners!

  • Favorite pie?
  • Your go-to Starbucks order?
  • Have you ever been to China?!
One comment

  1. I’m with you, I love whipped cream. My wife doesn’t, so she’s one of those who always orders special coffee beverages at various cafes without. This strikes me as a whee bit heretical, but it’s a battle I’m never going to win! (My preferred drink is whatever caramel-latte thing the place I’m in has on their menu, whether it’s Starbucks or not. Or, during Christmas, I get to indulge my love of peppermint.)

    I find your pie-in-the-face comment amusing, as one of our goofy traditions here is that once a year or so my wife gets to pie me (long story, the short version is that it’s part of a bonding thing we started some years ago during a really sad time in our lives together). We use real pies, though, with crust and everything. What disillusioned me was when I learned that a lot of ‘pies’ in TV and movies aren’t even whipped cream, but SHAVING cream! Ewwww!!

Leave a Reply

