cage-free

It feels great to be back on the streets! Don’t get me wrong, I totally enjoyed my post-race recovery. But getting out of a routine can feel pretty strange. I weirdly love my early-morning habits.I just feel like I can get so much done in the mornings, while everyone else is asleep. Pre-work activities for me include running (obviously), grocery shopping, laundry, cleaning, catching up on emails, and online shopping. I’m pretty useless after about 5 p.m., so it’s good that I can take care of my life in the wee hours.

Speaking of groceries, I splurged on some fancy eggs this week. Okay, actually, I had a coupon so I didn’t splurge at all.

“Now! For Your Nutritious Diet!” I feel like this box is blasting an infomercial at me every time I look at it.Which made me curious about all these labels. I haven’t done a lot of research, but I can tell that the cage-free organic eggs look different… but honestly, to me at least, don’t taste much different. So, why buy them? As far as I can tell, there are two arguments to buy them: the “how happy was your hen” argument and the “how healthy is your egg” argument. For the first discussion, you can easily find many articles on what different labels (e.g., “cage-free” vs. “free-range” vs. “free-roaming”) mean. Here’s on from the US Egg Industry — from what I can tell, looks like “certified humane” would make for the happiest hen conditions. Interestingly, “free-range” seems to be a pretty loose term that has a lot of grey areas in terms of standards.

On the nutrition front, it was harder to find any real proof that cage-free, organic, or free-range eggs are better for the consumer than your average egg. This Men’s Health article sums it up quite nicely: basically, the only guaranteed nutrition indicator you could look for on an egg carton is an Omega-3 notice (like the one on the carton I bought). This means that the hen had a diet high in Omega-3s, which Americans typically don’t get enough of. All of the other labels mostly indicate how a hen was raised, not necessarily what it ate. “Vegetarian-fed”  is another label that can be confusing — on one hand, it assures you the hen didn’t eat animal byproducts; on the other hand, it could very well mean that the hen ate a bunch of soy, soy, soy, and corn. And more corn. Which isn’t exactly great, as Shape magazine points out.

So, interesting. Seems to me like I might as well stick with the cheap eggs for now until I am strongly convinced to purchase otherwise.

In other, less confusing news, it’s FALL!
Miriam and I took an easy 4-mile jog this morning. We both raced over the weekend so were definitely taking it slow, which was wonderful. Unfortunately my camera was acting up so I didn’t get a shot of us today. But luckily I have a picture of her with a mattress from a few months ago, hehehe.

We spent 100% of the run re-capping our races. She busted out a 3:29 — a PR AND BQ — this weekend! She is the bomb. PR = Personal Record, BQ = Boston Qualifier. GO MIRIAM!

I just realized I spent way too much time researching eggs and have thus made myself late for work. Story of my life.

  • what kind of eggs do you buy? why?
  • what’s your usual morning routine?
  • what’s your marathon, half-marathon, 10k, or other distance PR?
4 comments

  1. Anthony

    I typically buy eggs like you buy wine, based on the attractiveness of the packaging and label. I picked up a carton the other day which was bright green. Gave me the impression the eggs were fresher so I went for it. Not rocket science I know, but like you say, they all taste the same so why not enjoy the placebo effect of a green carton?

  2. Tina

    After about 12 years working in the poultry industry, I have some knowledge in this area. I have been up close to all these egg laying systems and been to many conferences on the matter; here is my professional opinion: in actual fact layer cage eggs are cleaner, less risk of food-borne disease transmitted to the eggs, diet is more controlled, the birds are safer from the attacks of predators such as hawks, etc, and have no risk of the birds eating worms or other invertebrates in the soil. In actual fact, for free range, the eggs are at more risk of being laid in a less sterile environment. In addition, the feed for caged birds is free of animal products and strictly controlled so the eggs are generally of higher and more consistent quality. Are worms not animals?
    My advice is to start packaging the cage layer eggs in green cartons just to appease some people in particular my Anthony

    Love to all

    Trevor (Anthony’s Dad)

  3. I’m all about the cage free, organic eggs. But if I don’t feel like spending $4 on a carton of eggs, I’ll just stick to cage free. My sister is luck enough to live on a farm with her own chickens and has fresh eggs every day. Totally jealous!

    I’m with you – I LOVE the morning and am so much more productive before 9am. Unfortunately I leave for work so early (before 6am) so I don’t get to to do as much as I would like.

    I started working with my coach yesterday and am totally excited. We are aiming for a 1:30 half in February and 3:15-3:20 full in March. Those goals might be a little too ambitious but we shall see.

    I hope all is well!!

  4. Pingback: free workouts and 12 doughnuts | minutes per mile

Leave a Reply

