+5

Is it Friday already?

Yesterday was a complete blur. My company drove everyone to Maryland for the day where we basically had field day for adults. I raced in a potato sack, rolled around in grass, ate barbecue, and played volleyball. It was awesome.And a bit exhausting! I was so so happy that I had a low-key birthday dinner planned with Anthony. Or rather, he had a low-key dinner planned for me. I basically just showed up to a home-cooked meal and contributed nothing…except being born, of course. Thanks mom and dad!

Fish and chips. Classic. (Plus a small side of broccoli which makes everything healthy)Actually, broccoli is one a miracle food, according to a million news articles. I came across this very conservative study by the UK National Health Services on super foods. It’s an interesting text about how “miracle foods” are overly portrayed in the media as lifesaving eats, when really, it’s not like if you eat a bowl of broccoli you just increased your life by 5 years. The report basically says that we need more tests to prove any certain “super” food is really that super. Still, it gives broccoli a good report:

“Eating more non-starchy vegetables, such as broccoli, is associated with a reduced risk of cancer according to the WCRF systematic review on cancer prevention. It is possible that some of the compounds in broccoli may have health benefits.”

I’m pretty sure this bowl extended my life by 5 years, though. Now that I’m 25 I need to start saving up time however possible.

Best birthday present yet:

6 comments

  1. Chelsie @ Balance, Not Scale

    I didn’t know they made animal crackers like that!! I feel as though a whole new world has been opened to me! 🙂 And your field day sounds like so much fun – What a great way to bond with your co-workers!!
    Happy birthday!! Hope it was fabulous!

  2. Pingback: competition « minutes per mile

  3. Pingback: competition « minutes per mile

Leave a Reply

