short and long

 

Since I didn’t really write anything about running yesterday, here’s a double dose.

Last night I raced at the DC Road Runners Track Championships! A ton of people showed up and it was really fun. I wish I had this kind of support every time I did speed workouts.

I raced the mile dash with some other women. I finished in six minutes!

I got a random sore throat from chugging in so much air during the sprint. I’m definitely not used to these kinds of short distances! I was really impressed by the runners in this race. The top woman finished in 5:34, and the top man finished in 4:16! What the heck?! Are these people human?

I hung out with some club volunteers as well. Everyone knows me as the girl with bags of free t-shirts. So I did what I do best, and handed out more “I run this town” tees. I have about 500 of these sitting in my apartment.

Round two started at 6 am this morning. I have off work until Monday (yesterday was my last day at my old job, and I start my new job on Monday! Woo!!) so I moved my usual Saturday long run to today.

I mapped out a route that went over Chain Bridge. This is my all-time favorite bridge because I get to look at this:

Then my route wound around somewhere in the northern part of Virginia. About 3 miles passed and I realized I was lost. Which happens pretty regularly. I asked this lady walking how to get back to Rosslyn (central/southern part of Virginia), and her eyes went all wide. “Oh wow,” she said, “you have a loooooong way to go if you wanna go to Rosslyn.” She was right but it was okay.

At about mile 11 the thirst hit me. I was near Marymount University and decided to hit up their campus for some water. I stop at college campuses when I can, because I look like a student and the buildings are usually open! Ha!

Score.

In addition to universities, I also stop at hotels, churches, parks, and Starbucks for water/bathroom breaks. I have a small mental library of water fountain and unlocked buildings/bathrooms around the city in case anyone ever needs some info on these very useful survival tools.

The route continued and I finally figured out where I was. A quick stop at CVS, at mile 14, for some gatorade. Why did my $0.95 cent purchase warrant a 1-mile long receipt?


Yes, I have a NASCAR debit card, but that’s a story for another day.

On the last stretch home, the sun started to attack me. Luckily I was already drenched in sweat by this point so it really didn’t make a difference.

With 0.88 miles to go, I was feeling pretty gross and tired. But then I got a brilliant ray of inspiration! I ran right into Anthony, who was on his way to work! Fate strikes again.

He gave me some straight-talking words of wisdom to finish off the final and 17th mile. I made it home, showered, ate a bunch of food, and am back in bed. Goodnight.

7 comments

  1. Pingback: my boyfriend is a cheetah « minutes per mile

  2. Pingback: ten + tinsel « minutes per mile

  3. Pingback: keeping it short | minutes per mile

Leave a Reply

