lake monsters, egg whites, walmart

“Feed me!”

We went to the drive-up boat house, Blue Gill Grill, for lunch. I got a big plate of fish and onion rings. 50% for me, 50% for the lake dwellers. I didn’t know that fish, turtles, and ducks enjoyed fried food so much. Clearly a natural part of the southern lake monster diet.

This guy joined us for the live action.

Good times.

Have you ever tried Egg Beaters? Or, in particular, Southwestern Egg Beaters?

I am on the fence about liquid egg substitutes/liquid egg whites. On one hand, they’re more convenient and lower-fat/calorie than real eggs. But on the other hand, they’re just sort of creepy in their unnaturalness.

I’d never tried the flavored egg substitutes…until now. And they are really, really, good. The battle between egg and box of egg liquids may be over. I think these southwestern liquids might become a regular fridge item for me!

Nutritionally, Egg Beaters sort of kick regular eggs’ butts. According to this article, the substitute has fewer calories, the same amount of protein, and more vitamins than regular eggs. Here’s the breakdown:

Egg Beaters:

Southwestern Egg Beaters
Nutrition Facts
Serving Size 3 Tbsp (46g)
Servings Per Container about 9
Amount Per Serving
Calories 20
Calories from Fat 0
% Daily Value*
Total Fat 0g
Saturated Fat 0g
Trans Fat 0g
Cholesterol 0mg
Sodium 125mg
Potassium 65mg
Total Carbohydrate Less than 1g
Dietary Fiber 0g
Sugars 0g
Protein 4g
Vitamin A 6% Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 0% Iron 4%
Vitamin D 6% Vitamin E 6%
Riboflavin 25% Vitamin B6 4%
Folic Acid 10% Vitamin B12 4%
Pantothenic Acid 8% Zinc 2%

Eggs:

Nutrition Facts
Serving Size 1 large
Amount Per Serving
Calories from Fat 48

Calories 77

% Daily Values*
Total Fat 5.28g
Saturated Fat 1.627g
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.704g
Monounsaturated Fat 2.03g
Cholesterol 211mg
Sodium 139mg
Potassium 63mg
Total Carbohydrate 0.56g
Dietary Fiber 0g
Sugars 0.56g
Protein 6.26g
Vitamin A 0% Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 2% Iron 3%

I guess taste is still a big factor, though. I know a lot of people who think egg substitutes taste bad…but I have pretty low standards when it comes to egg flavor authenticity, so I’ll gladly pour some egg beaters in a pan and be happy.

Never as happy as I am shopping at Walmart, though. Going to Walmart has to rank as top 3 American experiences. I’m flexing my big muscles because we stopped for some shopping after a tough workout at the gym yesterday!

Anthony and I were just two of the 100 million people who shop at Walmart per week. We didn’t buy bananas, which are apparently the #1 best-selling item at Walmart. In fact, we didn’t buy anything. We just went to look at people. What’s wrong with us?!!

Nothing, except that we’ve been on vacation for too long.

2 comments

  1. I haven’t noticed those flavored egg beaters before. they look good. i have some of the regular kind in my fridge right now because i was making a recipe that called for like 8 egg whites. that’s not gonna happen by itself. lol.

Leave a Reply

