kiss my lucky egg

Yesterday I went out for a jog after work. I’ve run by this tree at least a thousand times and never noticed it had so much to say!

I don’t think I’ve ever done something rebellious like carve my initials into a tree. I didn’t even carve or draw on desks when I was in middle school. I only got sent to the principal’s office once because I forged my mom’s signature to get out of class early. All I got was a warning and then he told me good luck in my volleyball match after school. Seriously?! What kind of discipline is that. Thank goodness I turned out okay.

Okay except for a bit crazy in the head when it comes to running, right? I just looked up a marathon plan for my race this fall, and this is what I got:

I’m not sure if I like this one. It goes up to 28 miles for a long run? Really?! I’ve never really heard of that. It’s from some site called “Cool Running” which could be a bunch of baloney. But Cool Runnings is like my favorite movie so maybe I should do it.

Runner’s World offers another plan that only peaks at 48 miles a week (the one above goes to 60-something).

I’ve never really tried a formal training plan before, so we’ll see what happens. I’ve got a week to pick a spreadsheet, and then training begins!

I plan to fuel my runs this summer with lots of water, bread, and frozen yogurt. Tonight Anthony and I are going to get FrozenYo and I can’t wait. It’s 8:30 am and I’m already thinking of Reese’s cups and sprinkles.

Even better is that I get to pick all the toppings and flavors, because I won in our weekend game of briscola!

Nothing like some friendly competition with the one you love. Especially if there are prizes involved.

Derice Bannock: I can’t believe you’re still cold, mon.
Sanka Coffie: Cold? I’m freezing my royal Rastafarian nay-nays off!

One comment

  1. I love that tree. That’s a funny story about the principal’s office. I never had to go because I was home schooled. Bad enough getting in trouble from my dad. What’s that game? I have to look it up now!

Leave a Reply

