bambi

Oh dear!

I went out for an extra two mile detour on my way to the gym this morning. On the way I saw a wild deer, escaped from the zoo!

It’s kinda glum out.

Still, I think running outside (even on the gloomy days) generally beats running indoors. Though I do have a random urge to get on a treadmill every now and then, I think being outdoors is better for the soul. And, better for your body.

One thing I’ve heard a number of times (which is somewhat verified in this article) is that treadmill running is, of course, better than not running at all, but may lead to more injuries – especially foot injuries – than outdoor running. When you’re on a treadmill, the steady incline and angle guarantees that your foot will fall in at the exact same angle, every step. So, if you’ve got even slightly imperfect form, you’ll strike your foot in the wrong spot, or at the wrong angle, over and over and over and over. Running outside, on the other hand, offers a variety of terrains, angles, turns, and surfaces to keep you on your toes (ha ha). Keeping varied steps for your feet helps keep them healthy and strong!

Another tip I’ve heard: If you’re training for an outdoor race (or, just want a better workout), you should increase your treadmill incline to 0.1, in order to most accurately reflect outdoor conditions.

In other news, this is my latest obsession.

Mocktails! POM + seltzer water + lime. These babies really help spice up a weeknight. I’ve also been making them at the office. I am a sucker for anything pink and sparkly.

Tonight is the real stuff, though! My roommates and I haven’t had a wine night in a few weeks and are bringing the tradition back.

One comment

  1. I love that Mocktail idea!! You seriously saw a deer? That’s ridiculous. I need to run with you sometime so I can see something crazy. At least in Denver I get to see LOTS of dogs!

Leave a Reply

