x2

I wanted to title this “run-ins,” but that’s what yesterday’s was!

I overslept a tad this morning and bolted out the door to get a run in before work. As soon as I stepped out the door, look who I saw!

Mercedes! She is a member of the occasional running with friends morning club. We were both just starting out on 6 mile jogs and decided to go together! We did one of those hilly routes that passes by much more quickly when you’ve got a friend to keep you company.

To be honest, a lot of my friends are runners. Not nearly all of them, of course! But probably more runners than your average person have in their circle. I guess shared interests is a big factor in friendships. Just out of curiosity the thought made me look up some research on how friendships form. This study says that race, geographical proximity, and common interests are the most frequent deciding factors. Interesting.

Along the same lines, Mercedes and I somehow stumbled upon the topic of male and female friendships; that is, a guy and girl being strictly just close friends with no romantic feelings at all. Are these types of relationships possible? Rare? Common? I’ll have to do another guest post from Anthony on the “ladder theory,” but it seems like people have different thoughts on whether and how guys and girls (especially in their 20s and 30s) can be just friends.  I’m not really convinced it’s more or less impossible (like this article says), but do think it’s a bit rare (like this article says).

Anyways, last night I made a fancy ham and cheese sandwich. It’s inspired by this Sunmaid recipe! I didn’t have cinnamon raisin bread, but just added Craisins and cinnamon and vanilla to my french toast. This is a terrible photo but I needed a close up so you could see the melty cheese. I’m convinced that you can put cheese on anything and it instantly tastes 200% better.

Happy Wednesday!

 

2 comments

  1. I agree with you on the cheese, it makes everything taste better!! Plus I love crasins! Yum 🙂

    I’m torn on the male/woman friends thing. On one hand, I’d like to believe its possible and that (cueing When Harry Met Sally here) our male friends don’t want to just sleep with us. Most of my male friends are guys who were friends with my boyfriend first so its hard to tell. One of life’s great mysteries!

  2. I’m jealous of all the runner friends!!! But I’m so happy to have my husband as a built-in running buddy. That’s an interesting question about male-female friendships. I’ve had a lot of guy friends, but there’s been a lot of one-sided interest going on. After that fades out, friendship is possible? But I think it usually goes through that phase with at least one person…

Leave a Reply

