stretching and sprinting

I’m not sold on the idea that yoga improves your running or vice versa. But I do think they’re both good for you in different ways.

So I try to do them both.

I have 10 classes at this studio, and yesterday I tallied up #5. The class was a little over an hour, “vinyasa intermediate” style. I would never consider myself intermediate, but the other classes I’ve taken at Meridian Yoga have been really basic, and, hate to say it, kind of boring. So I took it up a notch.

Followed by some 500 meter sprints this morning!

I’m starting quite a collection of Teddy Roosevelt High School track photos.

I even busted out my Garmin to track my time! Fastest was 1:59. By the end of the summer let’s hope it’s lower than that! There’s debate about benefits of yoga + running but track + running is a no-brainer in terms of getting faster. I started running track when training for my second marathon, and reduced my race time by 20 minutes!

Kenny and I posed for some very authentic running shots:

Look at the prettiest flower I passed on my way home! Even though we’ve had some rainy days this week, there’s always something bright and cheery if you look for it. That’s life.

10 comments

  1. janae@hungryrunnergirl

    GORGEOUS PICTURES and way to get out to the track, love track workouts. Keep us updated if you notice a difference now that you are doing yoga.

    • thanks! I’ve been doing yoga more regularly for the past 8 months or so, in combination with weights and other cross training. I think I’ve gotten faster and less prone to injury, but who knows what the factors are. I also made some really awesome playlists which could definitely be the root explanation.

    • I love 500s too, for this reason: when you do a 500, with a 300 cool down, it equals EXACTLY 2 laps around the track. Which means you start and end at the same spot each time! Random but I like the consistency.

  2. Pingback: Yoga-urt « minutes per mile

  3. Pingback: hello, muscles « minutes per mile

Leave a Reply

